Next Story

Who is Mohan Charan Majhi, BJP's first Odisha CM

Send Push
NEW DELHI: Bharatiya Janata Party ( BJP ) MLA Mohan Charan Majhi has been appointed as the new chief minister of Odisha. Mohan Charan Majhi was elected as the Leader of BJP Legislative Party in Odisha.

Mohan Majhi is a four-time tribal MLA from Keonjhar assembly in Odisha. In the 2024 Odisha assembly elections, Mohan Charan Majhi secured 47.05 per cent of the votes, winning the Keonjhar assembly constituency and defeating Minu Majhi of the Biju Janata Dal ( BJD ), who received 40.84 per cent of the votes.

The announcement comes a week after the BJP stormed to power in the state on its own for the first time, winning 78 out of 147 seats. The announcement was made by defence minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday in Bhubaneswar, capital of Odisha. Union minister Bhupender Yadav also attended the meeting as an observer.

Loving Newspoint? Download the app now