Next Story

Odisha: Newly elected MPs, MLAs express happiness on winning polls, pledge to work for constituency's development

Send Push

Bhubaneshwar (Odisha): [India], June 11 (ANI): After the declaration of the results of the Assembly Elections in Odisha, the newly elected MLAs and MPs from the state expressed their happiness and gratitude towards the people for electing them and pledged to work for the betterment of their constituency.

While speaking with ANI, Sofia Firdous, the first Muslim woman elected as an MLA in Odisha, winning the Barabati-Cuttack seat, said, “I am a proud daughter of my city Cuttack. I was born and brought up in Cuttack. The people of Cuttack have trusted their daughter and they have voted for me.”


She added further, “I have always promoted my culture, my food, our textiles, our fabrics, our festivals widely within social groups as well as in the social media space.”

Congress’ Sofia Firdous had secured a win against BJP’s Purna Chandra Mahapatra by defeating him with a margin of 8,001 votes.

Upasana Mohapatra, BJP Brahmagiri MLA, who is the youngest MLA in the state at the age of 26, also expressed her gratitude towards the people and said, “I want to express my gratitude to the people of my constituency, my soil, my Brahmagiri, who gave me their blessings and allowed me to be their voice and represent them as the youngest MLA in the state.”


On being asked about the development works that she would like to do for her constituency, Mohapatra said, “Even in the year 2024, we are deprived of basic fundamental rights like clean drinking water. We are lagging in infrastructure development. In the medical sector, we don’t have sufficient doctors, and even in our schools, we have a lack of teachers.”

She added further, “We have a crippling education system which is being reflected in the youth of Brahmagiri today who are already a victim of massive unemployment. So we have to figure out a way to generate a lot of employment… I seek to develop my constituency and take it to new heights…”

BJP’s Upasana Mohapatra defeated BJD’s Umakanta Saman Taray by a margin of 9,830 votes

Avimanyu Sethi, BJP’s newly elected MP from Bhadrak Lok Sabha seat said, “I thank the people of my parliamentary constituency for taking this historic decision. It has been 75 years of independence but for the first time, a BJP candidate has won in Bhadrak and this mandate is a very big transformation.”


He added further, “We will work to solve whatever problems are there in our parliamentary constituency as soon as possible… People have trusted PM Modi’s guarantee, and we will do all his work…”

BJP’s Avimanyu Sethi had defeated BJD’s Manjulata Mandal by a margin of 91,544 votes.

The swearing-in ceremony of Odisha’s new Chief Minister will take place on June 12, Odisha BJP President Manmohan Samal said on Monday.

“PM Modi will reach on 12th June by 2:30 pm for the oath-taking ceremony. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 5:00 pm. Tomorrow the BJP legislative meeting will be held.”

On being asked if he is in the race for CM face, Samal says, “BJPs parliamentary board will decide…No one is in the race (for the post of Chief Minister) in BJP…The observers will reach tomorrow.”

Former Union Minister and BJP MP from Balasore, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, said that the central observers will elect the next Chief Minister of Odisha tomorrow.

“Union Ministers and Central Observers, Rajnath Singh and Bhupendra Yadav, to chair the first BJP legislative meeting at 4:30 pm at party headquarters in Bhubaneswar on June 11. The central observers should elect the leader of the party’s legislative assembly in Odisha,” Samal said. (ANI)


The post Odisha: Newly elected MPs, MLAs express happiness on winning polls, pledge to work for constituency's development appeared first on CliQ INDIA.

Loving Newspoint? Download the app now